Vegans.The Most Popular Questions about Veganity…
Veganity is a strict form of vegetarianism that completely excludes the consumption of animal products.
A vegan is a person who abstains from the use and consumption of goods and products of animal origin.
Vegans also do not wear clothes made from animals, do not buy or breed them, do not use products tested on animals, do not go to zoos and circuses.
The term was coined in the 1940s by the founder of the British Vegan Society, Donald Watson, to describe non-dairy vegetarians.
In 1944, after years of controversy over the admissibility of milk and other animal products for vegetarians, several members of the British Vegetarian Society decided to create a separate organization – the Vegan Society.
There are other diets and philosophies that are close to vegetarianism:
- Pescetarianism is a refusal to eat meat of warm-blooded animals. Eating fish, crabs and shellfish is allowed.
- Pollotarianism is a diet that excludes the consumption of red meat. In this case, poultry, fish, as well as eggs and milk are allowed.
- Flexitarianism is a predominantly plant-based diet that allows for the consumption of meat. Flexitarians tend to eat as little meat as possible, but do not completely eliminate it from their diet.
- Fruitarianism – eating fruits of plants, mainly raw – both fruits and berries, and fruit vegetables, without the addition of nuts, legumes, grains and seeds. Fructorians only eat food for which the plants do not need to be destroyed.
- Lacto-ovo-vegetarianism (comes from the Latin words: lacto – milk, ovo – egg, vege – vegetation). The diet allows the use of milk and dairy products, eggs and any plant products. Meat, poultry, fish, or seafood are excluded.
How do vegans get calcium and protein?
From a young age, we are drummed into the fact that calcium makes our bones stronger.
Calcium is commonly associated with animal products such as milk or yogurt.
If you plan on switching to a plant-based diet, you need to stock up on foods like lettuce, arugula, parsley, and cabbage, as well as foods you usually don’t buy like edamame beans or dried figs.
Those who try vegetarianism often worry about whether their diets are getting enough protein…
But now there is a large selection of protein-containing foods, such as nuts, seeds, or protein bars.
Don’t forget about whole grains: you can come up with a delicious protein menu by pairing brown rice with legumes like chickpeas and lentils…
How do vegans prepare cakes and pies?
Eggs, milk, flour, sugar, butter, chocolate.
All of these familiar pie ingredients are vegan or available in vegan form. Except for the eggs.
Many vegans like to use egg substitutes that are easy to make at home. Typical substitutes are bananas, flaxseed, applesauce, or chia seeds.
Are vegans healthier?
According to recent studies comparing the health of vegetarians and vegans to the health of meat-eaters, the former are more healthy.
The study authors concluded that vegans have a lower risk of developing cardiovascular and cancer diseases.
That being said, eating a plant-based diet doesn’t necessarily mean you will live longer.
Veganity is not a spiritual practice.
We often hear that as vegans we need to be kinder, more patient, and calmer. But, fortunately or unfortunately, not all of us have learned Zen, because we are just people who have given up the exploitation of animals in our lives.
Despite the fact that the principle of nonviolence is close to many vegans, veganism has nothing to do with religions or spiritual practices. It does not provide access to arcane knowledge. But it is the only way not to participate in violence.